Sandvick Dominates KFYR, Wins First Career Major

To many, it is considered glory’s last shot. The seasons final Major Championship, the KFYR TV Bowling Classic, is often looked at by bowlers as the final chance to save a sub-par season or put the finishing touches on an exceptional year. In its 28th year, the KFYR TV Bowling Classic has seen champions of all ages, righties, lefties, in-staters, and out-of-staters. However, this seasons tournament captured a new ‘first’, and was done so in thrilling fashion.

120 bowlers traveled to Mandan, ND to compete for the $2000 top prize and a coveted Major Championship title. The action began on Saturday where all bowlers bowled 8 qualifying games. The top 32 bowlers would advance to Sundays second round. Saturdays qualifying leader would receive a 42 inch flat screen TV that was donated by KFYR TV. The qualifying round would also determine the winner of the Challenge presented by Burgess Detailing. Owner - Daren Seney with Challenge Champion - Clayton Mohr Owner – Daren Seney with Challenge Champion – Clayton Mohr

Early in the qualifying round, the scoring pace remained relatively low. The top 32 cut line hovered around even the entire day. As the day went on, the scores began to climb and the race was on for the top qualifying spot. Using a 779 final 3 game set, Ryan Sandvick vaulted into the top spot and took home the 42 inch TV with an 8 game total of 1899. The cut to the top 32 came to rest with Eric Lund at +9 leaving defending champion Matt Smallin in the alternate position at +3.

Saturday evening brought with it the traditional banquet at Midway Lanes. Brackets, side pots, and other prizes were handed out along with a meal catered in for all bowlers and their guests. At the banquet, the Challenge Champion was determined. Coming in with 21 points was Clayton Mohr who edged Tad Schmidt by just 3 points. For his efforts, Clayton received the $300 top prize and a Storm Lights Out bowling ball that was donated by Troy Bender and Bruce Rauser at The Pro Shop inside Ten Spot Lanes. Congratulations to Clayton Mohr and thank you to our sponsors: Burgess Detailing, Lights Out LLC., and The Pro Shop.

On Sunday morning, the top 32 bowlers returned bright and early at 7 am. The 32 qualifiers were split up into 4 groups of 8. Each group would bowl round robin matches with the winners receiving 30 bonus pins. Much like Saturdays qualifying round, Sunday’s match play round was dominated by Ryan Sandvick who claimed the TV Shows’ top seed by a rather comfortable margin. Joining him in the final 5 was past KFYR TV Bowling Classic Champion Travis Hersrud, Ted Staikoff, Butch Hrouda, and Eric Parvey.

2014 KFYR TV Bowling Classic Champion - Ryan Sandvick

2014 KFYR TV Bowling Classic Champion – Ryan Sandvick

In the first two matches, Travis Hersrud defeated Ted Staikoff and Butch Hrouda; who couldn’t avoid costly open frames throughout the matches. In the Semifinal match, Eric Parvey reeled off the front 7 strikes en route to a victory over Travis Hersrud. This set up a championship match between Saturdays top two qualifiers. Sandvick was in control early in the match as Parvey experienced a days worth of bad breaks in the first 5 frames. However, a missed 7-pin spare by Sandvick opened the door for Parvey. With strikes in the 7th, 8th, and 9th, Parvey found himself within striking distance of a potential 3rd Major Championship. Entering the 10th, Sandvick needed a double and good count for the title. That’s when the 21 year old left hander surprised everyone. Sandvick prepared for his first shot in the tenth holding the ball he had used the entire match and most of the tournament. He hesitated, then proceeded to make a gutsy ball change with the tournament on the line. Showing very little nerves in his first television appearance, Sandvick struck the first two shots in the tenth to complete a dominating weekend and capture his first career Major Championship. Nice bowling Ryan!

Stepladder Results:
Hersrud def Staikoff 214-146
Hersrud def Hrouda 177-146
Parvey def Hersrud 268-192
Sandvick def Parvey 215-191

The win joins Ryan with his father Duane Sandvick as the only father-son combo to have won the KFYR TV Bowling Classic in the events history.

I would like to thank all bowlers who entered, and Jim Mellon and his staff for putting together another great tournament. I would also like to thank everyone for the exceptional support of over the weekend.

Congratulations to the 2014 KFYR TV Bowling Classic champion Ryan Sandvick and thank you for visiting!

KFYR TV Bowling Classic – Mandan, ND
KFYR Day 1 Sheet 1
Day 1 Sheet 2
Day 2

Written by