Heilman Wins Shootout for Second Career Major

The 14th annual Morris Anderson Memorial Shootout took place in Minot, ND over the weekend. Through 13 years of existence, the CMA Shootout has produced 13 different winners by using a variety of different patterns and even a change in lane surface a few years ago. This year, however, was a little different. The tournament opted to use the same pattern as the 2016 Shootout following a successful year that produced scores oftentimes desired by tournament officials and players. While there were a few similarities to last years tournament, the end result once again produced a first time shootout champion.

104 bowlers entered the tournament on Saturday morning for a shot at the $4500 top prize. The 2.19 to 1 ratio oil pattern provided a tough test for a rather stacked field of bowlers, but not everyone struggled to score. Leading the way on Saturday was George Brooks. Brooks put in an impressive qualifying performance posting a 8 game total of 1905 (238.125 ave). How good was his qualifying score? Last season, Zach Wilkins lead the qualifying portion with a 1782. This year, qualifying 2nd was Nick Heilman at 1762. For his efforts, Brooks will receive a paid entry into the 2018 Shootout for being the qualifying leader. As for the rest of the field? Rounding out the top 30 was John Hommes at 1628 (203.5 Ave). Following the qualifying round, the final standings for the Can-Am Challenge were determined and taking home the title was Zach Wilkins once again. Wilkins qualified 4th in Manitoba and qualified 4th here at the shootout as well for a total of 8 points.

The top 30 bowlers returned to North Hill Bowl on Sunday for 10 games of Match Play and the stepladder finals on NDBowlTV. Leading the way on Sunday was Nick Heilman. Heilman posted a perfect 10-0 record in match play to claim the top seed in the NDBowlTV show with a 2412 total (Includes 30 bonus pins for a win each match). Joining him in the finals were Zach Wilkins, Jason Duran, David Langer, and Mike Larson. You can watch the entire NDBowlTV show by clicking HERE.

NDBowlTV Finals:FullSizeRender
Larson def. Langer 213-194
Duran def. Larson 219-145
Duran def. Wilkins 193-191
Heilman def. Duran 237-213

With the victory, Heilman claims his second Career NDBowling.com Major Championship and has won 2 of the last 3 Majors (2016 NDBowling.com Classic). Heilman also becomes the 13th bowler to have won 2 of the 4 NDBowling.com Major Championships. Only one bowler has won 3 of 4 (Eric Parvey).

We would like to thank Jeff Kragh, Rory Selk, and the entire staff at North Hill Bowl for running another great event. Next season will mark 15 years for the Shootout and 60 years for North Hill Bowl. Highlighting the tournament next season is the coveted 300 game pot. Each year, Farmers Union Insurance donates $300 to the first 300 game bowled in the qualifying round and that money will carry over to the next season if no perfect games are recorded. Next season, the 300 game pot will be up to $1800. So, bring your striking shoes and sign up for the 2018 Morris Anderson Memorial Shootout.

Once again, congratulations to the 2017 Morris Anderson Memorial Shootout Champion, Nick Heilman! Thank you for visiting NDBowling.com!

There are two NDBowling.com Majors left! Call and sign up!
KFYR TV Bowling Classic | February 4-5 | Midway Lanes – Mandan, ND | 701-663-0277
NDBowling.com Classic | March 4-5 | Sunset Lanes – Moorhead, MN | 218-233-6153

Complete Standings:
Day 1 page 1
Day 1 page 2
Day 2

Written by