NDBowling.com Major Preview: 2018 NDBowling.com Classic

The NDBowling.com Classic is celebrating 25 years in the Fargo-Moorhead area. The tournament has experienced a revival over the past 5 years and the 2018 version of the Classic is set to build on that success. Here are some of the story lines heading into the Season’s Final Major, the 2018 NDBowling.com Classic.

Player of the Year Race Concludes
The 2017-2018 Player of the Year will be determined this weekend at the NDBowling.com Classic. Through 7 events, Jeremiah Smith holds a comfortable lead over the field with 133.72 points. Points available at this event will depend on the number of entries. Points awarded for a win are half that of entries. So 90 entries would give the winner 45 points. Smith needs 19.97 points at the Classic to break the record for most points in a season set by Thomas wolf back in 2015-2016 with 153.68.

Top 10 heading into the NDBowling.com Classic
1-Jeremiah Smith 133.72
2-Thomas Wolf 116.36
3-Matt Smallin 114.35
4-Mike Green 101.58
5-Jack Nelson 95.56
6-Barry Zimmerman 89.68
7-Justin Coste 82.02
8-Jon Breckel 76.16
9-Randy Peterson 72.48
10-Mike Morris 71.68

Top 5 following the completion of the Classic will be named to the 2017-2018 NDBowling.com Team of the Year. To enter the Scratch Rankings, contact Daren Seney (Seney1987@gmail.com).

Chasing the NDBowlTV Triple Crown
Earlier this season, Matt McNiel captured the Manitoba Open and Morris Anderson Memorial Shootout for back to back majors on NDBowlTV. McNiel will be looking to become the first bowler to win 3 NDBowling.com Majors in the same season. A win will also join McNiel with Eric Parvey and Andy Mills as the only bowlers to have won 3 separate Majors. Will McNiel win a 3rd consecutive Major featured on NDBowlTV? Tune in Sunday for the finals! (www.YouTube.com/NDBowling) Subscribe for updates! It’s Free!

Celebrating 25 years at the Classic
This season will mark the 25th anniversary of the Classic. The tournament debuted back in 1994. Ralph Hennebry won the inaugural Classic for his first and only NDBowling.com Major. Here is a complete list of past champions.

1994 – Ralph Hennebry
1995 – Dave Schick
1996 – Greg McCullough
1997 – Dave Schick(2)
1998 – Barry Zimmerman
1999 – Jim Diederick
2000 – Jim Diederick(2)
2001 – Dave Schick(3)
2002 – Doug Hajicek
2003 – Russ Meyer
2004 – John Matter
2005 – Jim Augustine
2006 – Todd Iverson
2007 – Travis Hersrud
2008 – Mike Morris
2009 – Mike Morris(2)
2010 – Joel Galle
2011 – Mike Morris(3)
2012 – Dillon Meyer
2013 – Adam Peters
2014 – Michael Schmidt
2015 – Eric Parvey
2016 – Nick Heilman
2017 – Andy Mills

Bold Predictions
The 2018 NDBowling.com Classic will once again feature a strong field with a challenging pattern. While the specific pattern has yet to be decided or announced, the Classic is sure to provide a challenge to even the best bowlers in the region. Here are my bold predictions for the 2018 NDBowling.com Classic despite not knowing a complete roster or tournament pattern. (In no particular order)

– Matt McNiel
– AJ Chapman
– Justin Coste
– Andy Mills
– Brady Stearns

Tune in Sunday on NDBowlTV to see who takes home the Glen Hains Memorial Trophy! (www.YouTube.com/NDBowling)

Written by